Part 3 - Registration Process

Now, you should have a better idea of the practice of a MRT in Canada. It is also important that you know how to register to practise in this country.

Medical radiation technology is regulated in six Canadian provinces: Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. This means that an MRT must be registered with the provincial regulatory body to practise legally and to use the designation assigned by the regulatory body.

Each Canadian provincial regulatory organization has its own registration requirements. You must know the requirements in the province or territory where you want to practise.

The other four provinces (British Columbia, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador) are not regulated at this time. However, most employers in these provinces will require proof of successful completion of the national certification exam administered by CAMRT and proof of registration with the provincial professional association.

Contact information for regulatory organizations or professional associations in the province where you would like to work is available at the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists’ (CAMRT) website: